%AM, %13 %074 %2019 %06:%Mar

Budget 2019 Second reading passed

The Second Reading of the Appropriation Bill 2019 was passed with a majority of 43 votes in Parliament yesterday (12).

One hundred and nineteen Parliamentarians voted in favour of the Bill while 76 MPs voted against it.


The division on the Bill was called by UPFA MP Dinesh Gunawardena.
Opposition Leader Mahinda Rajapaksa and the majority of the UPFA MPs voted against the Bill with the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) while several Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MPs, UPFA MP Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa, who crossed over last year and MP Arumugam Thondaman, voted in favour along with the Government.


Twenty-nine MPs including those who are strong allies of President Maithripala Sirisena were absent during the voting.


The absentees included MPs Duminda Dissanayake, Mahinda Amaraweera, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Shantha Bandara, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Dr. Sarath Amunugama, S.B. Dissanayake, Mahinda Samarasinghe, S.B. Navinna, Thilanga Sumathipala, Cadar Mastan, Angajan Ramanathan, Weerakumara Dissanayake, Dr. Wijeyadasa Rakapakshe and Eelam People's Democratic Party (EPDP)

Leader Douglas Devananda, TNA MPs Selvam Adaikalanathan and Sivashakthi Ananthan and independent MP Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera

The Committee Stage Debate on the Bill will take place for a period of 19 days from today (13) to 5 April and the Third Reading Division will take place on the evening of 5 April.


Accordingly, the House will take the President’s Head of Expenditure for debate today.


The total expenditure estimated for the President for this year is Rs 13.5 billion according to the Appropriation Bill. Rs 8.2 billion out of it is for development activities while the rest is for operational activities.


Heads of Expenditure of the President, the Prime Minister, the Judges of the Superior Courts, the Office of the Cabinet of Ministers, the Public Service Commission, the Judicial Service Commission, the National Police Commission, the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption, the Office of the Finance Commission, the National Education Commission, the Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka, the Parliament, the Office of the Leader of the Opposition, the Offices of the Chief Government and Opposition Whips, the Leader of the House of the Parliament, the Election Commission, the National Audit Office, the Office of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration, the Audit Service Commission, the National Procurement Commission and the Delimitation Commission are scheduled to be taken up today.


The Appropriation Bill 2019 themed ‘Empowering the People and Nurturing the Poor’ was presented to the House by Finance Minister Mangala Samaraweera on 5 March.

(Ceylon Today)

Read 30 times