Thursday, 28 May 2020 09:01

EC publishes list of 7,452 candidates contesting General Election

The Election Commission yesterday published the list of 7452 candidates whose nominations have been accepted to contest the upcoming Parliamentary Election, from political parties as well as independent groups.

Of the 7452 candidates vying for the 225 seats in Parliament are 3652 who are contesting from political parties, and another 3800 from independent groups.

The EC said that the names have been published in the website of the Election Commissioner in the order in which they appear on the nomination paper, and that this is not an indication of the preferential number, which will be allocated to each candidate by the EC after a date for the election is finalised.

The highest number of 924 candidates (19 will be elected) will contest from the Colombo District which will followed by the Gampaha District with 693 candidates (18 will be elected) while Digamadulla (Ampara) District comes third with 540 candidates (seven will be elected).

A total of 196 MPs will be elected, while 29 will be appointed from the National List. (CK)



Read 121 times