Debate set for 4 April

Debate set for 4 April

Party leaders yesterday (22) decided to hold the debate on the no-confidence motion, against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe on 4 April.

The decision on the debate was taken at the party leaders’ meeting, which took place at the Parliament Complex. The meeting was chaired by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya.
Speaking to the media after the meeting, Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake said, the vote on the motion would be taken on the same day following a full-day debate.

Accordingly, it was decided to reduce the number of oral questions from 15 to 8 in order to facilitate the debate on the motion.

Dissanayake said, the Parliamentary session on 4 April will commence at 9:30 a.m.

It may continue until 9:30 p.m. and the vote will be taken after that, he added.

Responding to questions raised by the media, Dissanayake said that the JVP will vote in favour of the motion.

The JVP Leader said that the motion should be taken up for debate as soon as possible because they can then take the 20th Amendment to the Constitution, aimed at abolishing the Executive Presidency, to Parliament afterwards.

The no-faith motion against the Premier was handed over to Speaker Jayasuriya by the Joint Opposition (JO) on 21 March. It contains 14 charges against the Prime Minister and contains 55 signatures including 51 Joint Opposition Parliamentarians and 4 Sri Lanka Freedom Party MPs.

This is the third such motion against a Prime Minster in the Parliament’s history. Prior to this, two motions had been submitted and taken for vote against former Prime Ministers S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike in 1957 and Sirimavo Bandaranaike in 1975. (MD)

(Ceylon Today)

back to top