%AM, %25 %051 %2018 %05:%Oct

Wiggy forms Tamil People’s Front

Former Chief Minister of the Northern Province, C.V. Wigneswaran yesterday (24), announced the formation of his new political Party, the Tamil Makkal Koottanii (TMK) through which he will execute his future political moves.

TMK stands for the Tamil People’s Front.

He made this announcement during the Tamil People’s Council (TPC) meeting held yesterday in Nallur at the Nadaraja Parameswary Auditorium.

The TPC organized this meeting on 24 October to announce the next political move of Wigneswaran as the tenure of the Northern Provincial Council (NPC) concluded yesterday.

“I already initiated steps to form a new Political Party with the support of the TPC. This political journey under the new Political Party will unite all those who are in sync with Tamil nationalist ideologies. This Political Party will unite all who will struggle to win over our political, social and economic rights with sincerity and dedication,” he said.

Wigneswaran further pointed out, “This is not my Political Party but your Party. You will develop this Party. This Party will fulfil the need of the hour.

I would have retired if the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) Members were loyal to their policies. It is the TNA that forced me to form this Party. I did not wish to split the TNA. People will join me if my objectives are correct, and if not they will walk away. It is the choice of the people.”

He also announced 10 proposals to take people’s politics forward, which he said should in turn be put forward for debates and review.

He further invited everyone to join together to find a federal political solution within a merged North and East, the latter, one of the key proposals in his 10 suggestions.

TPC Co-Chair Dr. Lakshman, Eelam People’s Revolutionary Liberation Front Leader Suresh Premachandran, Parliamentarian Sivasakthy Anandan, former Northern Provincial Ministers Ananthy Sasitharan and K. Sarveswaran, political analysts and civil society members participated at this event.

The tenure of the NPC concluded yesterday and the final Council sittings were held on 23 October. The democratically elected Provincial Council for the Northern Province in the post-war period was formed on 24 October 2013.

(Ceylon Today)

Read 91 times