%AM, %09 %095 %2018 %06:%May

New composition of Parliament: Government-129; Opposition-95

The new composition of Parliament is 129 for the Government and 95 for the Opposition after the crossover of 16 SLFP MPs yesterday.

The head count of Government is without Speaker Karu Jayasuriya whose position is regarded as independent. The number of SLFP members in the Government has dropped to 23. The UNP with its allies has 106 seats in Parliament.

The Opposition comprises of 54 Joint Opposition MPs, 16 TNA MPs, six JVP MPs, two CWC members, one EPDP member and 16 SLFP members. 

(Daily news)

Read 124 times